Urban Exploration

In between every trip there is time at the home front, time you wish you were out exploring the streets of Berlin, hiking the Rockies in CO, or eating delicious Thai food while experience Ha Long Bay.  Well, luckily for me my hometown is not only very accessible by bike or on foot, but there is also an amazing Thai restaurant named Ha Long Bay where I can get my spicy veggie fix.  One can, if they are curious enough and adventurous enough (and I promise you, if you are a traveler by nature, you are both of these things) always find spaces to explore right outside your door. “It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.”

I found this all too true sign in a shop around the corner
There are some really lovely gardens in my neighborhood!
Bilbo (and J.R.R. Tolkien) was right, although my neighborhood and my city are actually quite safe.  I choose to think that he was actually referring to the fact that you never know what crazy thing might sweep you off your feet.  Since I moved into my current apartment in February I have discovered a lagoon, a stream, some natural springs, and several parks that I never even knew existed even though they are right off a main road.  I’m guilty of getting stuck in a routine, but actively trying to break that habit has yielded new favorite cafes, coffee shops, and bars.  I almost always extremely low on cash, so just putting on some clothes I love and getting outside with my Nikon is an affordable and rewarding way to spend my time.  I can’t always be somewhere fabulous, but I can make the most of being an Urban Explorer right here at home.

Visiting the boat house across the street at sunrise.
One of the neighbors has serious style.

Leave a Reply

