Relocation Part 2: In With the New, Out With the Old

My new clothes needed for my new job are starting to arrive in the mail!  I did have to fight with USPS over one item (seriously, if all their employees are that surly and irritated it must be a terrible place to work), but last night was a bonanza of opening packages on par with Christmas. 

Less fun was all the packing.  The stuff that my parents are graciously storing for me at their house is all being moved on Saturday, so I need to make sure it is ready to go.  This means boxes, boxes, furniture, oh and more boxes.  Rigamarole decided that he would make a cozy home in one such cardboard castle.  Historically, boxes and paper bags have been his strong suit, so I’m surprised it took him this long to crawl into one.  *Side note: Even Riggy got new swag.  I bought him a new collar and shiny ID tag at the shelter that I work at*

I have bags and piles of stuff to donate heaped around the apartment.  The idea of loading it into my tiny Yaris is daunting. Luckily my friend Emily came over- to talk about life, naturally- and ended up combing through the piles and filling a bag with stuff.  I’m a pack rat by nature, so letting go of stuff is hard.  What a relief it is that these sweaters/shoes/etc are going to a friend!

Today I work my last shift that the vet clinic and it’s a short one, meaning I have all afternoon and evening to keep packing.  Cheers, and here’s to moving on.

Leave a Reply

