What’s the Deal With Altitude Sickness?


Altitude sickness (or to use the more quaint term- “mountain sickness”) occurs when you ascend to an altitude level where the oxygen is thinner.  It can be pretty serious when you are actually climbing mountains- yes, when I looked it up there was a horrible picture of a dead goat that succumbed to it- but when you are just adjusting to the Mile HIgh City (Denver) it is much milder.  In fact, some people aren’t affected at all!  I, unfortunately, am not one of those people.

Common symptoms are:

-Shortness of breath

-Lack of appetite

-Headaches

-Inability to sleep properly

I’ve got the lack of appetite and restlessness in spades.  I checked out a site put out by Denver’s tourism board and read that since there is much less moisture in the air the sun is more powerful.  I knew that it was sunnier here than back in Wisco (apparently Denver receives more sun that San Diego and Miami!), and I certainly noticed the drier air, but I guess I hadn’t put the reason behind these things together.  This also means that exercise goes a lot further than in lower altitude places- wohoo!  It makes the rather brief run I took around the neighborhood yesterday seem more impressive.  If you are interested in reading more about this you can check out the Denver site Here

Leave a Reply

