Cafe Life: Seattle

I got off the plane in Seattle, WA about two hours ago and it has taken me this long to get a bowl of cappuccino in front of me.  This is the CITY of coffee.  I couldn’t be more excited about that fact, and I am currently sampling my first taste in a cafe called Zeitgeist, located near Pioneer Square.  I’ve been to Seattle a few times before, but my knowledge of the city and it’s neighborhoods is very minimal.  Thus when I got onto the train that heads from SeaTac into the city I pretty much picked a random stop somewhere in the middle of the map.  I ended up in China town and started walking.  It’s been raining heavily off and on- and I mean it pours for ten minutes and then the sun comes out, and then repeat.  I dashed inside Zeitgeist after ignoring several other cafes that looked more chain-y and less interesting.  The theme in this cafe is appropriate: world exploration.  There are old globes scattered around, blown up black and white photos of children looking at globes, and old coffee pots and various caffeine making machines on display.  This place was clearly once part of a factory: the ceiling goes up and up and is a networks of beams and cross beams.  One wall is brick, one is drywall, and one is a big window looking out into the nearby streets.  Zeitgeist is pretty size able and business is booming.  The baristas are polite and efficient, dare I say even friendly.  Friendlier than I would be in a Seattle coffee shop during rush hour, anyway.  

The other patrons here look as though they all have important financial or marketing jobs.  Everyone looks to be under forty and well dressed.  There are plenty of open Macs on the counters lining the big windows.  At the tables energetic young professionals talk about whatever they talk about over delicious looking sandwiches and salads.  I’m clearly a traveler with my two backpacks and my casual clothing, but not really all that out of place.  

Next to my trusty iPad is my big beautiful bowl of cappuccino.  There’s plenty of espresso under that foam!  It tastes much like a cappuccino I might have had in Denver or Madison though, so the jury is still out on all the coffee hype and what that tastes like exactly.  Now the sun is coming out again,so hopefully it’s still out there when I leave Zeitgeist and continue my exploration.  Is that a National Parks store across the street…?

One thought on “Cafe Life: Seattle

Leave a Reply

